Summer Job, Summer Class: A Lesson in Time Management

When I signed up for my summer class – an intensive Latin course that intended to get through the entire language in only eight weeks – I had no intention of getting a summer job. I thought I’d be sitting pretty with the money I had gotten from my summer scholarship, with enough to pay for the class and to pay for my rent and utilities until my stipend started in September.

But I was so, so wrong.

The class turned out to be a little more expensive than I’d thought, leaving me with barely enough money to get through the first month. So I quickly applied for jobs all over town – mostly in retail, but in food establishments too – hoping against hope that I’d find something that wasn’t a total drag and paid well enough.

Luckily, I had an interview and was offered another by a different store, but took the job I was offered from the first one. I experienced my first full-blown work schedule this past weekend – working one twelve hour day, two ten hour days, and two eight hour days in a row – and it was miserable. It was hot and humid, sometimes rainy, and my feet and knees were killing me after all of those hours on my feet.

But at the same time that it was miserable, it was totally worth it because it allowed me to learn so much about the store and its merchandise in a short amount of time, as well as get to interact with so many different people. Just yesterday I modeled clothing for two women who were shopping and it was so fun.

At the end of the weekend, however, I remembered that I still had homework to do – and a lot of it. Plus, on top of all of that, the Democratic National Convention is on this week, and I’m working three more days. Going from class to work to homework and being politically informed is beyond tiring – doesn’t it just sound like it?

I haven’t quite perfected the art of time management in this situation, but I am working on it actively. Today, I had a day off so I did all of my homework for next class and the class after that, just so that I wouldn’t have to worry about doing it after getting home from work tomorrow at 9:30pm (I’m not a night owl anyway, so doing homework that late is painful for me). As for balancing class and work, it’s a little tricky to do when you start work right as your class is ending – yesterday, I asked to leave half an hour early so that I could eat lunch before work, and I felt terrible. Tomorrow, though, I think I will try to eat my lunch during our ten minute break in the middle of class and ask to leave ten minutes early instead. It only takes five minutes to walk from class to work (thankfully) so it should work out fine.

I am working until the end of August, but my class ends on August 19th, so hopefully things will be easier by then. As long as I stay on top of my homework – or at least stay ahead of it so that I don’t neglect to do it or forget until the last minute – and ingest as much coffee as humanly possible (just kidding… maybe) then I think everything will be fine. This is my first summer working AND taking a class, but once I get the hang of it, it’ll be alright. Plus, I’m getting paid, so it’s definitely worth it.

Just four and a half more weeks to go. I can totally do this.

Leave a Reply

